OFFICERS 2010-2012

GAIL L. PELLERIN PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN VICE PRESIDENT Shasta County NEAL KELLEY TREASURER Orange County DEAN LOGAN SECRETARY Los Angeles County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County TESS FITZGERALD Santa Cruz County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County JIM MC CAULEY Placer County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County ELECTED AREA CHAIRS: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County KARI VERJIL Southern Area **Riverside County** JILLIAVINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS

Bay Area Solano County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD: SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

GAIL L. PELLERIN, PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County Clerk 701 Ocean St., Room 210, CA 95060 831-454-2419 * Fax 831-454-2445 * Cell 408-316-9745 E-Mail: gail.pellerin@co.santa-cruz.ca.us Website: www.caceo58.org

April 12, 2012

Senator Lou Correa , Chair Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments State Capitol Room 5052 Sacramento, CA 95814-4900

RE: SB 1188 Elections: Reclamation and County Water Districts Procedure - SUPPORT

Dear Senator Correa:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to convey **Support** of **SB 1188** (as introduced February 22, 2012). This legislation will correct erroneous cross references within the California Water Code relating to reclamation and county water district elections.

In 2003, Chapter 824 (AB 1521) repealed and amended Chapter 6 of Division 4 of the California Elections Code relating to all mailed ballot elections. SB 1188 will correct a cross reference that remains in the California Water Code to specify the correct section in the California Elections Code listing the established dates a reclamation or water district all mail ballot election can occur.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Monterey County Elections Department at (831) 796-1499.

Very truly yours,

Linda Tulett Correspondence Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

 c: Honorable Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Honorable Lou Correa, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates